Season’s Greetings from Alert Music

We want to thank you for your ongoing interest and support for Alert artists. We hope you and your family have a happy holiday season and wish that in this very fragile existence of ours, you have a healthy and inspired 2013… And a suggestion that in 2013 we all try just a little bit harder to make the world a better place and finally remember,  “All We Are is All That Love Brings” …………….. Happy New Years from the Alert Team!


‘NIGHT’ AVAILABLE NOVEMBER 19 via Universal Music Canada

(TORONTO – 9 October 2012) – Internationally acclaimed recording and touring artist Holly Cole returns with NIGHT, her first studio album in over five years.  NIGHT will be released November 19 via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company

Supported by musicians Cole recognizes as soul mates and companions, NIGHT presents a reunion of the original Holly Cole Trio, featuring pianist Aaron Davis and bassist David Piltch along with co-producer Greg Cohen. The line-up is completed by Davide DiRenzo (drums), Johnny Johnson (horns), Greg Leisz (lap steel), Kevin Breit (guitars), Cyro Baptista (percussion) and others.

In trademark Holly Cole fashion, NIGHT crosses different corners of the musical spectrum from the first focus track, a Bond theme by John Barry (“You Only Live Twice“), to a Mort Shuman classic (“Viva Las Vegas“) to Tom Waits (“Walk Away“, “Whistling Past The Graveyard“), Jaques Brel (“If You Go Away”) and Gordon Lightfoot (“If You Could Read My Mind“). A song by late Sixties/early Seventies Canadian folk-pop duo The Poppy Family has gently found its  way into the repertoire (“I Thought Of You Again“). All of this is complimented by an American songwriter/folk classic from the Danny O’Keefe songbook (“Good Time Charlie’s Got The Blues“), a riveting version of a Captain Beefheart tune (“Love Lies“), a timeless pop ballad (“I Only Have Eyes For You“) and  –  a wonderful new Holly Cole original – “You’ve Got A Secret“.

“When we made this recording the band and I pushed well past normal studio hours,” said Holly Cole. “We worked deep into the night and journeyed to unexpected and surprisingly rewarding places. We can’t wait to share it.”

Holly Cole’s recording career spans twenty-three years with nine highly acclaimed full-length studio recordings including the platinum selling hits Girl Talk (1990) and Don’t Smoke In Bed – which also garnered the 1994 Juno Award for Best Contemporary Jazz Album – plus the 2004 Juno Award for her album Shade for Vocal Jazz Recording Of The Year.


  • 1989 – Christmas Blues
  • 1990 – Girl Talk
  • 1991 – Blame It On My Youth
  • 1993 – Don’t Smoke In Bed
  • 1995 – Temptation
  • 1996 – It Happened One Night
  • 1997 – Dark Dear Heart
  • 1998 – Treasure
  • 2000 – Romantically Helpless
  • 2001 – Baby It’s Cold Outside
  • 2003 – Shade
  • 2004 – Collection Volume 1
  • 2007 – Holly Cole
  • 2012 – Steal the Night: Live at Glenn Gould Studio (CD/DVD)

For all the latest Holly Cole news and tour information, visit


1. You Only Live Twice 3:17
2. Walk Away 3:40
3. Good Time Charlie’s Got the Blues 3:11
4. You’ve Got a Secret 4:34
5. Viva Las Vegas 4:06
6. I Only Have Eyes For You 3:28
7. I Thought of You Again 3:31
8. Love Lies 3:56
9. Whistlin’ Past the Graveyard 3:09
10. If You Go Away 3:26
11. If You Could Read My Mind 3:54

“The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.”

Velvet Rope Magazine, serving the Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge & Guelph area, has published a glowing track-by-track review of Holly Cole’s live CD/DVD “Steal The Night”. Anyone who has seen her perform live (or watched the DVD!) knows that Miss Cole absolutely shines on stage.

Be sure to catch Holly Cole on July 21st at 9pm when she headlines the UpTown Waterloo Jazz Festival, celebrating 20 years this summer. Enjoy a whole weekend of FREE jazz entertainment!

“Jazz music is all about the parts being able to talk and listen to each other, finding a way to come together and allow for a beautiful, sultry voice to give it life with words.

The parts include the reformation of the Holly Cole Trio with Aaron Davis on piano/percussion and David Piltch on bass/percussion. Additionally, there is John Johnson (horns/percussion), Robert Piltch (guitar) and Davide DiRenzo (drums/percussion). This makes for one amazingly talented and greater ‘whole’…” Read more